wanted software feature

the ability to configure the ‘delete’ option.
As it is, it’s next to the ‘rename’ option, which is an option I use a lot. Like the descending elevator in ‘The Guns of Navarone’, sooner or later I will accidentally click on ‘delete’ instead. There is no confirmation offered: the delete immediately occurs. Sure, it’s in the recycle bin, but not only is it disconcerting and inconvenient for this to happen, but once again in the recycle bin I am only a slip of the finger away from final loss of the file. I would like to have the ability to specify where in the options list the delete option appears, and whether it should offer confirmation before proceeding. It would be nice if I could specify that the delete option is to come up in its own separate window. (cf: David K. Jordan’s complaint about having the SEND key next to the editing box.)
keywords: safety, cyberspace, safeguard